Unlimited Expectations

Ever meet a girl you knew
Was going to be the death of you?
Time and time you returned
Just to be summarily spurned.
Yet you orbit back ’round
Oh, just to hear the sound
Of the most beautiful, “No.”

Did you ever get the girl?
Did you ever think in all the world
You could actually win
And she’d let you in
That you’d commit to
Everything she’d say to do
Changin’ more than just your mind.

And you’ll be better off for it
You can’t ignore it
You know you’ll adore it
Man, I’m all for it.

I know a girl just like this
And I cringe at each missed
Chance to impress her
But her nymphic allure
Robbed me of any way
I couldn’t try every day
So I ran right off the cliff

And I took her as my wife
A reminder for all my life
That all I am is what I strive to be
And all I want is her to see
Me getting better and better
You know I never said her
Love was going to be easy

“I love you,” is her challenge
You better get your game
She’ll make you change

And you’ll be better off for it
You can’t ignore it
You know you’ll adore it
Man, I’m all for it.

–R. Brockey
(06.15.10)

One thought on “Unlimited Expectations

  1. I love this. What a beautiful anniversary poem!

What's your opinion?

