DC Teaching Fellows – I’m In!


Monday night I received an email from DC Teaching Fellows offering me a place in their summer 2011 cohort.  Within a couple of months I will be moving to DC and, beginning this Fall, I will be teaching math.

Everyone I’ve told has been very excited for me, which helps me get excited.  My excitement is tempered by the prospect of now finding a place to live and moving me and my life across the entire country.  If anyone has recommendations for how to go about such a move, I would appreciate the feedback.  Also, if you have any leads for housing make sure you contact me.

Ideally, I want to find an apartment or house with some roommates.  It would be great to move into a house that is already established, with people familiar with the area.  I am hoping there might be someplace that tends to cater to Fellows, where there will be others sharing my experience.

It is clear now that getting in was the easy part.  I know that the challenge is just begun.

When I first opened the email I was really filled with a bit of terror.  A moment where I felt myself drop into open space.  Since then, I have asked myself over and over again “Is this something I really want to do?  Will it be worth the expense, the difficulty, the challenge?”  But when I think about what I will be doing every day–planning lessons, showing off math, breaking apart the ideas into manageable portions, grading homework, interacting with students–I know that it is all I want to do, something I must do.

This is going to be good.  And keep an eye here, because I know I will want to share it.


2 responses to “DC Teaching Fellows – I’m In!”

  1. I just found your blog from googling. I got accepted into DCTF as well. Now I’m trying to get everything together for the move in the next few weeks! Aghh..!

What’s your opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.