Gap and Cult – Advice to do more

Last fall, while I was still on Google+, Wil Wheaton shared a couple pieces of advice that he had come across. I re-read these short declarations over and again for the next couple days. Finally, I printed them both out and hung them on my wall.

I am posting this because I am adding these two ideas to my quote page tonight and I want to call attention to them. I have been aspiring to these tenets since I read them. It’s an ongoing effort.

The first piece of advice is from Ira Glass, of This American Life. While talking about storytelling, Glass defined the central difficulty of producing creative works.

words from Ira Glass, click for source

At the heart of Glass’ statement is the rather obvious advice the only way to get better at something is to keep doing it. When it comes to producing creative works, practice doesn’t always lead to obvious results. So it is easy for people to give up when their own work leaves them underwhelmed.

I want to draw attention to the passage, “…do a lot of work. Put yourself on a deadline so that every week you will finish one story. It is only by going through a volume of work that you will close that gap.” It is almost as though Glass is saying that the most important part of creating is just to get things done.

As a matter of fact, that is the other piece of advice I am trying to live up to.

words by Bre Pettis and Kio Stark, poster by Joshua Rothaas, click for source

If Glass’ words are the what, then Pettis and Stark, the authors of The Cult of Done Manifesto, have spelled out the how. Make high quality work by simply getting things done. They have simplified what done means. Among the many things that get done, the work you are proud of will be among them.

Honestly, this is a hard goal for me to live up to. In order for something to get done it must first get started and I have a difficult time getting started. That is another blog, though (one I’m working on, as a matter of fact).

These are really my main aspirations. They are incredibly synergistic. Both come down to doing something. Then doing something else. I want to get things done. And in the process I hope to produce enough that work I am genuinely proud of will emerge.

2 thoughts on “Gap and Cult – Advice to do more

  1. I especially like the ‘people without dirty hands are wrong.’ Yes, time to get stuck into it, and get our hands dirty. x

What's your opinion?

